Wrote a little review on Goodreads

The Dead ZoneThe Dead Zone by Stephen King

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I loved the writing, and Johnny Smith pulled at my heartstrings. I found the story a little drawn out, but mostly I didn’t mind that. It was immersive writing; I like reading books that were published thirty, forty years ago. It opens up a way of thinking that’s hard to replicate now.

But something seemed missing. Why was Greg Stillson bad? Johnny feels that he is, and that he might become a new Hitler. But it’s never really fully explored. Maybe it was hard to really come up with a truly evil politician that felt naturally in 1979. Now, post-Bush and in the middle of the times of Trump, that’s sadly no longer so hard.

Several times I felt reminded of 11/22/63, in the best way. Playing with ideas around changing the course of history has seldom felt so timely.

View all my reviews

Author: melgoughwriter

Writer, Londoner, coffee lover. Sometimes I breathe, mostly I'm too busy writing. "A World Apart" coming September 18 with @ninestarpress #romance #lgbtqi

Leave a Reply

